List News    News

Interim President receives Albert Londres Awards' jury members

Published the:  14/05/2011

| Share

May 14, 2011 - TAP - Interim President Foued Mebazaa received, on Saturday, jury members of the Albert Londres Award to be handed for the first time in Tunisia.
The Interim President underlined that this event shows post-Revolution Tunisia's commitment to the principle of freedom and independence of the press, in compliance with international standards and professional ethics.
He emphasized media's key role in boosting political life in the country and promoting democracy and pluralism.
Mr. Foued Mebazaa said that the awarding of this prize for the first time in an Arab country shows that Tunisia has joined the ranks of countries which respect freedom of press and speech.
Mrs. Annick Cojean, Chairwoman of the Albert Londres Award Association, said the latter's journalists have followed with passion the events of the "Arab Spring" and the Tunisian Revolution.
"We were especially concerned about the issue of freedom of press which was for a long time mistreated, muzzled and gagged in the Maghreb countries, particularly Tunisia", she noted.
Today, this freedom which is always conquered and never taken for granted, Mrs. Cojean said, is blooming, underlining that "it needs to be worked on and protected".
She voiced the Association's readiness to help Tunisian journalists, saying that handing over of the Albert Londres Award in Tunisia is a gesture of friendship and solidarity.
She said that "Tunisian journalists are lucky: they are experiencing an emergence of freedom, but they also face a huge responsibility, particularly in this pre-election period", she added.
Handing of the 73rd Albert Londres Award in the written press and the 27th Audiovisual Award will take place next Saturday at the Tunis Municipal Theatre.
Albert Londres was a prominent reporter. He died on May 16, 1932. Bearing his name, this prize awarded for the first time in 1933 rewards each year the best "reporter in written press" and since 1985 the best "audiovisual reporter".